Cardigan starter kit

Cardigans.. every Muslimah’s dream! 🙂

Over the last few months, as part of my ‘preparation’, I’ve been looking for and buying cardi’s in different styles and colours. They really are the key to ‘hijabifying’ your wardrobe.

Here’s my thoughts on a few basic styles/lengths that you should start off with:

1. The cropped cardigan.
This shorter length cardi looks gorgeous with long maxi dresses and longer length tops. I usually pair these with tops that come just above my knees or longer.

I used to stay away from cropped cardis thinking they are more appropriate for the ”teeny-boppers’, but they can look really glam/sophisticated if you dress them well (Will show you how to dress each cardi type in another post)

The button down cropped cardi is the most versatile and works on all body shapes. It’s also my favourite style! If you are top-heavy I suggest wearing it unbuttoned. Leaving it unbuttoned also adds length for shorter/petite figures.

The ‘tie-in-front’ or ‘arms-only’ bolero styles can also look quite nice, though you need to be careful not to clash styles with your top. This style looks best on petite figures.

2. The classic cotton cardigan.
This basic button down cardigan is a must have in every Muslimah’s wardrobe! This super-versatile cardi works on all body shapes, and is the perfect item to dress down a smart outfit, or dress up a casual one! Works with jeans, dresses, skirts, wear it open or closed.

3. The boyfriend cardigan.
This longer length cardi is great to muslimify you shorter tops when wearing jeans or pants. Once again, I like the classic button down style as it works with most of my clothes, and is easy to dress up or down. When worn open, this can add modesty and length to your outfit without taking away from the awesomeness of that short top you couldn’t resist buying 🙂

You can wear it closed for a laid back, casual look, but this may draw attention to your hips if you have a pear-shaped figure, so make sure its a comfortable fit before buying.

4. The waterfall or wrap cardigan
Another version of the longer length cardi, this style is alot more feminine than the boyfriend cardi. Whilst I LOVE this style, for me it hasn’t been that easy to pair this up with an appropriate top, as I feel that these cardis have a defined style and tend to be the statement item in your outfit. I had a good friend teach me how to wear these, and they can be worn in a variety of ways, e.g. open, with a waistbelt, with a brooch, etc). Wrap cardis deserve a post of their own! I will do one soon. I will also ask my good friend for more wrap cardi fashion tips 🙂

When starting out your collection, it’s good to get cardi’s in some neutral coulours, and perhaps one or two other colours to accentuate your wardrobe. There are also some nice printed cardigans in stores now, that are a bit more difficult to match up, but could be great statement buys.  In later posts I will talk more about the different styles and how to wear them, so keep on visiting! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Cardigan starter kit

  1. Question: Would a 3/4 wrap dress plus a waterfall cardi plus boots which met the length of the skirt (or where the top of the boots were hidden underneath the skirt) with tights underneath plus a scarf qualify as hijab… I think that look really works with these kinds of cardis 🙂

    • Aslm sister, I apologize for the late response! I don’t really want to comment on what constitutes as hijab, as many sisters interpret this very differently, from exclusively black abayas to western wear that is layered and hijabified.

      Personally, I think the 3/4 dress with boots look rocks! I love wearing my dresses like that, in winter it is very easy to dress modestly alhamdulillah! Agree with you 100%, those wrap cardis make you look quite elegant when they’re draped over a dress or top/skirt ensemble.

Leave a reply

