The journey of an enquiring mind

I have a close non-muslim friend who, for lots of different reasons, has over time become quite interested in understanding and learning more about Islam.

It started off as an interest or a hobby, researching things and then talking about them with Muslim friends, but as the days have gone on I’ve noticed her becoming more and more interested, and really liking what she is learning.

It’s been an eye-opening experience watching someone else ‘discover’ Islam. Our regular chats about religion started off being a basic QnA session with me having most of the answers, but as time wentand she continued researching, the chats changed and now she is the one teaching me!

How many of us don’t know the answers to ‘why?’ we follow certain guidelines in Islam? Or why certain rules are in place? Or why some things are forbidden? Or why some things are loved? As many of you, I was blessed to have been born in a Muslim family, so I grew up knowing and believing the pillars of Islam. A lot of what I believe in is so much a part of me, that I don’t question and understand the real reasons behind much of the wisdom of Islam any more.

Watching my friend on this path, I see her thirst for knowledge, I witness her understanding and growing love for Islam, and I’m inspired. She has inspired me to learn more about my religion, to have more answers to the ‘why’s’, and to increase the love I have for my Islam.

Seek knowledge from the cradle to the grave. The more you learn and know about Islam, the more you will increase your love, as it is indeed the most beautiful religion. Seeking knowledge is also spoken about in the Quran and in Hadith:

Allah says: “But say: “O my Lord! Increase me in knowledge”.

The Prophet (peace be upon him) said: “Whoever seeks a way to acquire knowledge Allah will make easy his way to Paradise.” [Sahîh Muslim (2699)]

It was also related by Anas b. Malik that the Prophet (peace be upon him) said: “Seeking knowledge is obligatory upon every Muslim.” [Sunan Ibn Mâjah (224) and others]

I’m not sure where my friend’s journey will take her, but may Allah open her heart to Islam Inshallah, Ameen.

Leave a reply

